ProofOfConcept: CPU/GPU Temp w/ Open Hardware Monitor

Suggestions/ideas for new Controls

ProofOfConcept: CPU/GPU Temp w/ Open Hardware Monitor

Postby Coolinger » 1. Mar 2014, 00:35

Hi all,

I just made my first C project ever work :)

I scripted a plugin for Powergrid which reads out the Sensor Data provided by Open Hardware Monitor.
You will get
    The real CPU clock, including Turbo at Intel CPUs
    CPU Temp
    GPU Temperature
    GPU Load
All readouts from OHM could be implemented.

Open Hardware Monitor has to be running in the background.
I hope it is OK to post the link.
http://openhardwaremonitor.org/

I put the plugin including the source to my owncloud:
http://cloud.coolinger.net/public.php?s ... 03b8430f88

Attention: This is my first C Program. If somebody could look at the code and give me some hints, it would be great!

Also, how do you do the Net Usage graph? Or some of those fancy things...

Looking forward to some discussion!

Regards
Coolinger
Attachments
screen.png
screen.png (86.06 KiB) Viewed 56826 times
Last edited by Coolinger on 24. May 2014, 00:34, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Coolinger
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 4. Jan 2014, 22:34

Re: ProofOfConcept: CPU/GPU Temp w/ Open Hardware Monitor

Postby Coolinger » 2. Mar 2014, 17:55

I think I finally found the Memory Leak...
I am a
Kone XTD/Ryos MK Pro/Apuri/Alumic/Kave 5.1/Powergrid
user.
User avatar
Coolinger
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 4. Jan 2014, 22:34

Re: ProofOfConcept: CPU/GPU Temp w/ Open Hardware Monitor

Postby MrTestOne » 6. Mar 2014, 18:05

Wow, awesome work. That really works? We had once experimented a bit with integrating OHM functionality to Power-Grid, but some temperatures weren't displayed correctly.
Let's put a smile on that face...

... with ROCCAT Power-Grid!
User avatar
MrTestOne
ROCCAT Staff
 
Posts: 244
Joined: 26. Mar 2013, 17:18

Re: ProofOfConcept: CPU/GPU Temp w/ Open Hardware Monitor

Postby Coolinger » 6. Mar 2014, 20:31

Thanks :)

OHM acts as a WMI provider. I am not using OHM directly, but the provided WMI information. So the OHM program logic is completely out of my mind...

And I only have one PC where I can test it...

Motivation:
I wanted something to show me the real CPU clock, because I have an Intel CPU with Turbo. And the stock CPU Clock Widget only showed up to the maximum CPU clock without turbo. So did ALL the Windows stock WMI providers.
GPU Fan is just a bonus. It also should show CPU Fan if the MB is supported in OHM (the query goes to the OHM WMI supplier with "Select * from Sensor WHERE Name LIKE 'CPU%' AND SensorType = 'Fan'". Could work perhaps, I cannot test it.).
I am a
Kone XTD/Ryos MK Pro/Apuri/Alumic/Kave 5.1/Powergrid
user.
User avatar
Coolinger
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 4. Jan 2014, 22:34

Re: ProofOfConcept: CPU/GPU Temp w/ Open Hardware Monitor

Postby MrTestOne » 7. Mar 2014, 12:54

Just checked it on my machine here, some infos aren't displayed yet, but i think that's part of software development, that not everything is working, right? ;) Besides that i'm really impressed about that functionality you have created there! Keep on doing!
Attachments
coolinger.PNG
coolinger.PNG (23.93 KiB) Viewed 57985 times
Let's put a smile on that face...

... with ROCCAT Power-Grid!
User avatar
MrTestOne
ROCCAT Staff
 
Posts: 244
Joined: 26. Mar 2013, 17:18

Re: ProofOfConcept: CPU/GPU Temp w/ Open Hardware Monitor

Postby Mrozio07 » 28. Mar 2014, 02:26

Hi there,
I just joined to Roccat society and was looking for something just like this. On my notebook it works perfectly, shows just what I wanted - that is CPU and GPU temp.

Thank you very much for all the effort you put into this !
Mrozio07
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 28. Mar 2014, 02:18

Re: ProofOfConcept: CPU/GPU Temp w/ Open Hardware Monitor

Postby laptopfreek0 » 9. Apr 2014, 06:23

When I put the plugin into the plugin folder and enable it the only option I get is CPU MHZ. Any tips as to what I did wrong?
laptopfreek0
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 9. Apr 2014, 06:21

Re: ProofOfConcept: CPU/GPU Temp w/ Open Hardware Monitor

Postby faz592 » 15. Apr 2014, 11:15

any tutorial on how to get this working?
faz592
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 15. Apr 2014, 11:06

Re: ProofOfConcept: CPU/GPU Temp w/ Open Hardware Monitor

Postby neven » 12. May 2014, 18:39

For those with an issue, Install the plugin from his cloud, ie open the .rpgp file and allow it to install the plugin to roccat.

next go to Editor, select or create a custom grid

left hand side, you will see a drop down next to Controls:
>Plugin controls
>>coolinger

In the Control Editor you have have a Sensor dropdown menu, you select what you want then drag over the icon displayed to where you want it on your grid. Make sure to save before you leave the window.
-------------------------
Now for me, Everything works fine minus the CPU Fan speeds and the CPU temperature. The CPU temperature for me is not displayed because your Dll references the internal CPU temp sensor, but since im on an unlocked core amd processor, that always displays a temp of zero. You cannot fix this with your plugin, its a hardware issue, but only mentioning it for those who may experience the same thing. Unlocked cores is called Unleashed on some Bios's, so if you see that word in your BIOS boot up, theres your reason for experiencing this aswell.

Now for a request of functionality:
Motherboard temperature #1 and #2... for people like me this is how i read cpu temp. But also handy to troubleshooting heating issues (ambient temperature too high not allowing the CPU to cool efficienty).
neven
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 12. May 2014, 18:20

Re: ProofOfConcept: CPU/GPU Temp w/ Open Hardware Monitor

Postby laptopfreek0 » 19. May 2014, 22:06

Thanks neven. It now shows the other sensors, glad you explained that, but sadly they all say 0. Guess I will have to wait for an update to address some issues.
laptopfreek0
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 9. Apr 2014, 06:21

Next

Return to Controls

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron