Explanation of some code please.

Everything regarding the Power-Grid SDK can be asked and discussed here.

Explanation of some code please.

Postby Vora » 12. May 2015, 21:32

I've been rooting through some different plugins and the SDK again and I was wondering if someone could give me a steer on what some of the code commands actually do.

1) SkinIdx:0,

I noticed this in the Grids.JSON files. My question is what does this set?

I haven't noticed any need for it so I removed it from my plugin and it works fine.

2) In the SDK I noticed a few TODO points. This one is in the advanced plugin folder plugin.json. In the Layouts section is mentions skin nesting.

I don't suppose this is anything like layers in photoshop is it?

I could be way off as this is still new to me and I'm still learning. I am trying to see if there is a way to stack up pngs and use one as a background and one as the button. Therefore I could change the background using another command while keeping the button Gfx the same.

Thanks.
Vora

Re: Explanation of some code please.

Postby Addihash » 13. May 2015, 09:23

1) SkinIdx is just an index for the skin, if you dont use it anywhere else you don't need it.
2) It is exatly that! maybe take a look at the S.K.I.L.L. plugin, I think there we do something like that.
Addihash
Administrator

Postby Vora » 13. May 2015, 09:53

Addihash wrote:1) SkinIdx is just an index for the skin, if you dont use it anywhere else you don't need it.
2) It is exatly that! maybe take a look at the S.K.I.L.L. plugin, I think there we do something like that.

Thx for the info, I'll dig into the S.K.I.L.L. plugin after work today.
Vora

Postby Addihash » 13. May 2015, 09:55

Also the lever in the toggle plugin uses nesting layouts in one skin. This should be similar to nestim skins.
Addihash
Administrator

Postby Vora » 13. May 2015, 17:58

I've just looked through the S.K.I.L.L. plugin and just to check that I'm interpreting it right.